jump to navigation

The one where I was able to recover from a cold December 11, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
trackback

Monday night, while at work. I felt like a cold was coming on.  My eyes and nose were burning, my throat was scratchy, and all I wanted to do was go to sleep.

So Tuesday I felt like crud when I woke up, and it got worse as they day went on.  Yuck.  So I was able to get a shift covered at work easily (thank goodness) and I had asked off for a few days this week to get some things done and prep for the holidays, so that was a fortunate turn of events.  I actually had plenty of time to get over this cold instead of having to work through it for a change, and that has been the biggest blessing I could have imagined.

I do love my job.  I love the flexibility, and the camaraderie, and I really love being able to make people’s days with a coffee or a latte, but what kills me is that you can’t just take a sick a day when you need it. You have to call around, or call in favors, and switch things and it’s such a pain, especially when you feel like you’ve been hit by a semi-truck.

But this time it was different.  This time I had several days off, and am recuperating like most people would be able to recuperate, and it’s been seriously wonderful.

Comments»

1. Doniree - December 11, 2009

Awww, feel better! I’m glad you got the chance to recover as you needed to 🙂

2. Elizabeth - December 12, 2009

I’m glad you’re on the mend, and had plenty of recuperation time!


Leave a Reply

