jump to navigation

So much to be Thankful for. November 24, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

I have mixed feelings about autumn.

On one hand, there is so much beauty in the Autumn.  The leaves change colors and decorate the world in golds, reds, oranges.  When and if the sky is ever blue, the blue is so vibrant and so clear it’s difficult to not stop in wonder at the naturally occurring beauty that surrounds.

But as that beauty fades in the bleakness that is winter, I grow more and more wistful.  The leaves are rejected from their trees, and fall to the ground and become empty brown shells to remind us of their former glory.

But when everything begins to fade for the winter, I’m always reminded to give thanks for all of the beautiful things.  Partly because right as thanksgiving creeps up, it’s time for everything to die.  And partly because when things get depressing, I try to focus on the good things.

So, here are some superficial and not so superficial things that I am thankful for:

  1. I am more thankful than I can even describe for the love and friendship that I have with Chris.  I never ever could have imagined that marriage would have been this easy, or this wonderful.
  2. My family is so supportive, and such an awesome group of people.  Everyone should be so lucky.
  3. I am thankful for our jobs for many reasons.  Our jobs put food on the table, clothes on our backs, and a roof over our head.  And we don’t hate our jobs.
  4. I am thankful for mascara.
  5. I am also thankful for eyeshadow.  In all colors and shades.
Comments»

1. Doniree - November 24, 2009

#4 and 5. YES.

Ok, and all of them. I love you. And am SO excited to share some of the holidays with you.

2. Alex - November 25, 2009

I second all of them… except maybe all that mushy stuff about Chris… I love him and all, but not like that. 😉


Leave a Reply

