jump to navigation

Apartment Therapy’s Kitchen Cure Fall 2009 October 18, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
trackback

Today I begin my Kitchen Cure.  AT encourages sharing of pictures of befores and afters and progress, but I’m not sure I’m ready to bare my kitchen cabinets to the world.  Call me crazy.

So, instead of actually beginning the cure, I’m blogging, of course.  Any sort of cleaning project just makes me anxious.  I feel overwhelmed just thinking about organizing something because I never know where things should be and how they should go, and I’m not very good at making things look pretty on display.  Things just look like “stuff on a shelf” when I look at them.  Maybe I’m overly critical?  Or maybe I do really just suck at making things look pretty.  I want my things to look pretty, and I think we have lots of pretty things that ought to be out where people can see them.

Anyway, we’ll see.  Today I will be looking at every piece of food in the pantry and fridge and freezer, and deciding if I need to keep them or not.  Then, after purging, I’ll be wiping every piece down, and then putting it back. That sounds like way more intimacy with my condiments than I ever anticipated.

Comments»

1. Doniree - October 18, 2009

Just take your time and when you reach limits, stop and come back to it later.

Good luck, and you’re going to feel so so great when it’s done!

2. J. - October 19, 2009

So will it be some sort of Survivor contest with the condiments? Does one get to win immunity?

I try and make things pretty, and always end up with the “things on a shelf” look. It’s not really was I was going for.

3. Allie - October 21, 2009

Ha! I couldn’t bring myself to take pictures of my cabinets either. I just couldn’t.


Leave a Reply

