jump to navigation

It always comes back to fall September 3, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
trackback

Thanks to E.P. , I’m inspired to write a little on the subject of just how much a song or album can influence your life, or memories, or mood.  

There are certain songs and albums (yes, I still call them albums) that instantly snatch me back to a moment or era of my life.  There are certain songs that remind of me people who I no longer have relationships with, but am nostalgic about our good times.  There are entire albums that take me eras of my life.  

The first one I can think of that defined an era  is Under the Pink by Tori Amos.  I remember buying that CD, bringing it home, putting it in my stereo, pulling out the liner notes, lying on the bed and reading along with her voice.  I don’t remember why I bought that one first, but it was my first Tori Amos, and it really helped me find as much of myself as I could get a hold of when I was 16 years old.  The song “Waitress” really punched me in the gut.  Because not only was a waitress, and loved the imagery (was her power all in her club sandwich?), the theme (betrayal of a woman-friend) sucked it all right out of me.  “Yes, Anastasia” did it, too.  It was inspired by the story of Princess Anastasia of Russia, the only (rumoured) surviving member of the royal family after the Russian Revolution.  But the lyric “we’ll see how brave you are” really inspired me.  

Of course there are happy memories associated some songs in high school.  My (once) oldest and dearest and I were obsessed with The Barenaked Ladies.  The lyrics, the guitar, the feel…it was just right at that time in our lives.  But, those memories are seriously bittersweet now, though sometimes I suck it up and listen even though it stings sometimes.  

The next phase of my life, college, started off quite rocky.  I lived with this girl (who happened to be an ex of Chris’) in the dorms, who started out pretty normal and we had a decent time.  Then, seemingly out of nowhere, she turns into a psycho bitch whose plot the whole time we lived together was to either convince Chris to break up with me or vice versa.  Fun times in the dorms, y’all.  So, while juggling that and my first semester of college (mercy), I spent a lot of time holed up in my room listening to music and doing homework.  I just recently got my hands on one of the albums I spend most of my time listening to then, Chillout Session 3 by Ministry of Sound.  When I first started playing the very first track, “The Shining” by Badly Drawn Boy, it was like everything stopped and there I was sitting in my dorm, trying to ignore the sounds of crazy bitch coming home and hoping she would just go into her room and leave me alone so I could study.  Needless to say, I didn’t do so hot my first semester of college.  

Certain albums make me think of fall.  Shakira’s Laundry Service got me through the fall of 2002.  Last fall I couldn’t stop listening to Jack’s Mannequin’s The Glass Passenger.  The fall before that it was Death Cab for Cutie’s Narrow Stairs.  

I will never be able to hear U2’s “Beautiful Day” without being wistful – it was the song Chris and I walked back down the aisle to after being announced as husband and wife.

Comments»

1. Allie - September 3, 2009

Wow! That’s such a great – we just got married – song!

I get all into my nostalgia music again once it starts to feel like fall too.

2. E.P. - September 3, 2009

It’s amazing how music has the power to transport us back to another time and to experience it all over again. Reading about yours makes me smile!

3. Alex - September 4, 2009

🙂


Leave a Reply

