jump to navigation

Why I’m mad at sunscreens August 27, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

Over the past few days I’ve been doing some research trying to find some good skin care products.  I’ve been reading/watching reviews of tinted moisturizers and all kinds of things.  In my search for a tinted moisturizer, I found a review by a makeup artist of the new MAC brand one.  He talks about how the feel is great, it’s not greasy and non-shiney, and I’m excited to try it.  But then in his review he starts talking about how he doesn’t like the sunscreen ingredient octinoxate, or octyl methoxycinnamate, because it’s been shown in many clinical and lab trials to be an estrogen blocking chemical.  

Basically that means that the chemical, once absorbed into your skin, will enter your blood stream and attach itself to your estrogen receptor cells, preventing your own body of producing the right amounts of actual estrogen.  

According to him, in Europe, this ingredient is on its way to being banned, and that pregnant women or women that could become pregnant should not be using products with this ingredient.  

Now, I’m not saying that this product has directly caused any problems I’ve had with suspected hormonal imbalances and the recent tragic events.  There’s no way to prove that, and there’s no way to know, so I’m not blaming.  I’m just saying that this sunscreen that is in every single product I’ve looked at over the last few days in my research could potentially be bad for my health.  

To top it off, in my research on this ingredient, it’s not even a stable sunscreen.  In fact, once it enters sunlight, it begins to decompose immediately (as far as I understand the science of it), and isn’t really protecting any more.  

Conspiracy much?

Comments»

1. Holly - August 27, 2009

my moisturizer says “octenylsuccinate” do you think it’s the same thing? sounds like it.

2. E.P. - September 1, 2009

Woah. That’s ridiculous, and I had absolutely NO idea!

3. Alex - September 4, 2009

I guess you are right that it is a good thing I am allergic to all that junk. So glad we started researching these things. Sigh…
Boooooooooo. Boo boo boooooo. Like how the lady says it in The Princess Bride. 😀


Leave a Reply

