jump to navigation

Everything I needed to learn about life, I learned from working at Starbucks August 24, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in starbucks.
Tags:
trackback

Starbucks gives free brewed coffee to all of our police officers in uniform.  (We also give our military brewed coffee when in uniform, as well, but I don’t think that’s company wide.)

It’s one of the things that I really like about SBUX.  It’s our way of saying “thanks” to the people that put their lives on the line for our communities every single day.  

So, tonight at SBUX a group of people came in, and one of those people happened to be a local police officer.  They were standing around, not really looking like they were wanting to order yet, so I continue about my business.  A chick and a dude come up to me and say “Hey, give the officer a free drink.”  

So I say, “We always give police officers free coffee.”

He responds, “No, I said a drink.  Anything he wants.”  I just told him that I can’t do that.  And the chick says something about “see, I told you.”  And the dude says “He said this is the only one that won’t give him free drinks.”

I’m a little confused.  It’s just part of what we do.  We give free coffee to our officers.  All that they want, all day long. 

But then I realize that they’re saying we’re the only store that won’t give him any drink on the menu for free.  I mean, if the policy was “any drink they wanted”, I would uphold that policy, but that’s not it.  I think that all the free coffee they want is generous, although not the most generous thing possible.  

So, they start making comments and making me out to be the asshole because I’m giving away free cups of coffee, not free frappucinos.  

It was quite uncomfortable, and even more uncomfortable when the effing police officer takes a pound of coffee and then tries to stuff it in his shirt like he’s going to steal it because I won’t give him a free effing frappuccino.  WTF!!?!?!?!?!?!

So I say to him, “See, that’s not even funny because we all know you know better.”  

Oh, lets not forget the icing on the cake here.  The girl who was making comments about it?  Yeah, she asks if she can give me her employee number for her discount. 

:::record scratch:::

Are you kidding me?  You’re a fellow SBUX partner, and you’re in MY store, making comments about me not giving away free drinks that we’re not supposed to give away, making me look like an asshole, and then you want your effing discount.  I should have laughed in your face. And yes I got your name, and yes we all know who you are now.  

So, what did I learn?  I learned that sometimes people take gratis items for granted, like their effing OWED a cup of whateverthehelltheywant just because.  It seriously infuriates me.  

And I was way too emotionally unstable to handle their bullshit, and it wore me down way too much.  Eff them.

Comments»

1. Allie - August 25, 2009

Wow! I didn’t know anyone actually gave free anything to officers. That’s very sweet, really. I don’t understand how anyone could not be grateful for that.

2. Doni - August 25, 2009

How ungrateful!

3. Holly - August 25, 2009

Not okay.

4. Brianne - August 25, 2009

I used to work at a gas station and we gave uniformed cops free car wash tickets. I eventually noticed that not all the officers were using the tickets on the police cars… a couple were saving the tickets to use on their personal vehicles once they were off work. It’s such a stupid abuse of power, yet they wonder why some people don’t trust the cops!

5. Alex - August 26, 2009

bitches.

6. E.P. - September 1, 2009

That’s really aggravating. I hate when people feel like they’re entitled to something just because. Or they should get more/better something because of X-Y-Z.


Leave a Reply

