jump to navigation

The Mascara Project: Maybelline Colossal – a review July 1, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in The Mascara Project.
trackback

 

nekkid eyeball!

nekkid eyeball!

 

Maybelline Colossal in Glam Black

Maybelline Colossal in Glam Black

Maybelline Colossal in Glam Black

Maybelline Colossal in Glam Black

Maybelline Colossal in Glam Black

Maybelline Colossal in Glam Black

 

 

  1. Color payoff.  Maybelline’s Colossal Mascara in Glam Black is pretty black.  Definitely better than some I’ve tried.  
  2. Lengthening.  This mascara doesn’t lengthen as well as some, but it’s claims are mostly volume related.  The packaging claims “9x the volume”.  
  3. Thickening/Volumizing.  The “9x” volume claim may not be realistic.  I’m not convinced that it really is 9 times the amount of lashes than without mascara.  But it’s not bad.  
  4. Crumbling/Flaking.  I will not tolerate flaking and crumbling in a mascara.  Unacceptable.  So yesterday, while wearing Colossal around all day, there were several times that flakes would fall into my eye and cause it to water and also cause me to have to root around in the eye and make the flake get off of the eyeball.  This ticked me off.  This is a huge ding against this product, in my opinion.
  5. Smudging.  Other than a little bit of color directly underneath my bottom lash line, there wasn’t much smudging to be seen.    

Overall I found this formula to be a pretty decent drugstore-brand mascara.  It provided a good amount of volume, but nothing incredibly dramatic.  The color payoff was true to it’s name (though I’m not sure what “glam black” is really supposed to mean anyway), and the formula held up pretty well to watery eyes.  There are two huge downsides to this particular mascara in my opinion.  The first is that the formula crumbled and flaked throughout the day, and the second is the fact there is absolutely no excuse for eye products with fragrance added.  And there’s no reason for the fragrance to linger for a few hours after application.  I should NOT be able to smell my eyelashes.  And all fragrance is to be a known eye-irritant.  

I give this product a 3 out of 5.  I feel very strongly about the fragrance and the crumbles!

Comments»

1. Lily - July 3, 2009

Um, I like your curly hairs!

2. Denise - August 18, 2009

Your eyes always look so incredibly gorgeous! I want to know which you like best, and I’ll try it!
Love ya


Leave a Reply

