jump to navigation

The Mascara Project: L’Oreal Voluminous Full Definition Mascara June 22, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in The Mascara Project.
trackback

I put my old stand by mascara, L’Oreal Voluminous Full Definition Mascara in Blackest Black to the test for my first installment of The Mascara Project.  

Since sometime last fall, when Ulta had a  buy one get one free sale on L’oreal mascara and eye products, I bought two of these because they were highly recommended by Paula Begoun.  I have been consistently pleased with the results from this mascara.  

So, without further ado, here is my first Mascara Project review! 

 

OMG my nekkid eye!

OMG my nekkid eye!

 

OMG my other nekkid eye!

OMG my other nekkid eye!

 

 

 

  1. Color Payoff – I think this “blackest black” claim is pretty close to the color left on lashes. Sorry that its a little blurry.  It was the best one I got!
  2. Lengthening.  I think this products’ lengthening capabilities are pretty exceptional.  My lashes are already long, they’re just quite blonde, but I like the extra long lash look.  Check out the difference between my nekkid eye and with the mascara. 
  3. Thickening/Volumizing.  I’m pretty impressed with the quality of results with this mascara.  I think it adds bulk to my lashes, giving a very full effect, but without clumping much.  Like with all mascaras, if you don’t wipe off globs from the wand, and you take too long between swipes on the lashes, you’ll get spider lashes.  But with careful application, I hardly ever get ugly clumps.
  4. Crumbling/Flaking – unlike many mascaras I’ve tried in the past from the drugstore brands, this one doesn’t flake or crumble easily.  In fact, in all the days I’ve used it, I haven’t come across any major flaking or crumbling.  I’ll have proof in a picture in a moment.
  5. Smudging.  I live in a hostile mascara environment.  It’s hot, humid, and my little valley is full of lovely allergenic pollens.  It rains frequently in the afternoons for a little bit.  So, my eyes water, my face is sweaty and there’s always a chance of some showers.  So, proof of this mascaras staying power, without being a “waterproof” formula….  here are pictures of my mascara after 8 hours of work and a decently long nap.  Mascara was applied around 4:30 a.m., and these pictures were taken between 4:30  and 5 p.m. the same day, after working a full shift at SBUX and then coming home, doing laundry and taking a nice nap with the cats.  

 

I'm wearing Bare Study Paintpot my MAC on my lids, and Studio Finish Concealer by MAC under my eyes, incase anyone was curious

So, that’s me after 8 hours of work, little or no sleep the night before (being sick sucks!), congested and fresh out of a nap.  Check out that mascara… Impressive, no?  

So, overall, I really love this mascara.  My only issue (not really a problem) is that sometimes in the morning, I find mascara smudges under my eyes, even after using a good makeup remover the night before.  That sucks a bit, but it’s something I’m willing to deal with for a great and affordable mascara.  

I’m going to give this mascara a 4.5 out of 5.  I’m hesitant to give a perfect score just yet.

Comments»

1. Marilyn K - June 23, 2009

love your post…love the mascara too – your eyelashes look a LOT longer with it and very pretty – off I go to buy it 🙂

2. Bluebelle - June 23, 2009

Looks good, thanks for the review!

3. E.P. - June 25, 2009

Very good to know! I might have to try some of that out because my mascera environment? Just as hostile as yours. And I haven’t found much to work with it so far.

4. Doniree - June 29, 2009

Again, I am SO glad you’re doing this! And I love your pond scum brown eyes. 🙂 Miss your face, SEE YOU IN THREE WEEKS.


Leave a Reply

