jump to navigation

The study of Ethics May 30, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
trackback

For many years I’ve been defining and redefining my own little code of ethics that I adhere to myself.  Many people are satisfied accepting a prescribed set of morals and ethics for themselves, and if they find them satisfactory, then there’s no problem.  

I had problems with prescribed ethics without backbone.  I mean, the basic tenets of our ethical systems are the same all over the world.  

  1. Don’t kill me
  2. Don’t take my shit (or my people)
  3. Don’t lie
  4. Honor your elders

It all basically comes down to those things, and what we in the western world call “the golden rule” – you know, do unto others as you would have them do unto you.  

Those are great things to hold to your decisions.  

But, for some reason, I needed more.  And I’ve been searching for that since the beginning of the year.  It’s a little difficult when one doesn’t necessarily accept that the God-given morals are the end-all and be-all of morality.  

So far, my favorite little essay on the subject is this one.

The Human Basis for Laws and Ethics

Comments»

1. Allie - May 30, 2009

I love that essay too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

