jump to navigation

The one where I have a wake-up call May 30, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in project size-reduction.
trackback

So, in the last few months, while I haven’t gained any amount of pounds, I seem to have gained width.  

I’m not ok with this.  The scale says I haven’t gained, but when I look at pictures, and mirrors, I see a person that I almost don’t recognize.  

The non-gain of weight means that I’m losing muscle.  Not good.  I’ve read for years that BCP can cause muscle loss.  I’m about to agree with that, since I’ve seen this since the re-taking of BCPs.  

So, since I’ve pretty much been scared straight now, I’m overhauling how I eat and how I spend my time.  I started two days ago with some strength training, and did about 30 minutes of cardio/stretching today.  On my way to work I’m picking up a healthy (albeit frozen) dinner (no more SBUX sandwiches for me) and Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred video to hopefully get me going in a good direction.  

I feel like I’ve eaten less crap this year than last year, but it’s not enough.  I suppose that over-a-quarter of a century mark means that my body really is changing and I can’t take anything for granted.  

So, project size-reduction is on.

Comments»

1. Holly - May 31, 2009

I’m right there with you sista’. I have had the exact thoughts going through my head!

I’m really glad you wrote this, I was actually considering the bcp’s since my body had been acting weird. What was I thinking? Healthy diet and exercise will fix me right up.
Why do most Americans reach for a pill instead of changing their life style?

2. Lily - June 1, 2009

What’s a BCP? And Jillian Michaels – I love and hate her at the same time. I started doing that last month, and while I haven’t done 30 days straight, I can definitely tell a difference after having incorporated it in my life. I need more because while running and biking are great, my arms are often neglected and need some serious work! Let’s make the last part of our 20’s our healthiest! 🙂 You go girl.


Leave a Reply

