jump to navigation

Tales from the ‘hood May 26, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
trackback

Our neighborhood is pretty quiet.  A good many of the houses have privacy fences, something I tend to appreciate.  In fact, our back yard is 75% surrounded by privacy fence.  I like this.  I don’t want to have to see my neighbors, nor do I want them to have to see me.  Eventually, I wouldn’t mind a 100% private back yard.  

So, I’m not used to looking out my windows and seeing people.  Especially not up close.  

After my shower today, I remembered that a vast majority of my underpants were either in the dryer or on the couch, waiting to be put away (the couch is my laundry staging area), so here I am, in my towel-wrapped glory, starting to walk down our little hallway toward the laundry room for some underpants.  Directly in front of me is the patio door to our backyard.  I see a large white animal running by the door.  I think “Oh, neighbor dog is loose,” and proceed.  

Then I’m stopped dead in my tracks when I see a man in my back yard!  A few seconds of panic go by until I realize that it’s animal control trying to round up this rather large (and probably quite stupid) white full-sized poodle.  I’m still a little creeped out by the random man in my back yard, but get dressed and go back out into the den.  

It’s then that I realize the man is still in the back yard, and I freaking recognize him.  He comes in to startbucks on a regular basis, and I find him to be a little creepy.  Ok, a lot creepy.  His name starts with G, in case you were wondering.  

So, I hid in my room until I was sure they were gone because I really didn’t want him to know where I lived.  

Mercy.

Comments»

1. Doni - May 26, 2009

Um, that kind of freaks me out. I miss you already, btw.

2. Allie - May 26, 2009

Oh dear! That’s so creepy!

We put a privacy fence up a little over a month ago. It’s made the biggest difference. I’ll never live in a house without a fence again.

3. Holly - May 26, 2009

I thought it was bad enough when the meter-reader guy brought me my cat from the street and he was a customer. But G? no ma’am. Not G, no. no. no. a million times no.

If venti 3 pump no whip double blended double cup mocha frappuccino guy shows up in your back yard, you better buy a different house.

4. brianarmh - May 28, 2009

O my goodness thats creepy! That is definitely one of the downsides to working at Starbucks, for all the great customers, theres twice as many annoying or creepy ones! Hopefully he didn’t see you!


Leave a Reply

