jump to navigation

The one where procrastination wins… May 13, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in The Dwelling.
trackback

While I’m working, or while I’m out with Chris somewhere, or while I am absolutely no where I can make a post, I come up with the best topics to write about.  But, when I’m at home and have a moment to think and sit and write, and want to, I am unable to remember what those excellent topics were.  

I know that I’m one of those people described by those who run the “Sidetracked Home Executive” website, flylady.net, and messies.org who either doesn’t know where to start cleaning and organizing (so I don’t) or knows she can’t do it correctly the first time or in the time allotted so I just don’t do anything.  I feel overwhelmed and overcome and can’t quite figure out what to do with all of my crap.  Flylady calls this perfectionism, and while I’ve never thought of myself as a perfectionist, I guess it fits.  I don’t want to do it if I can’t do it right…

But I’m pressed for time to get this house put into some sort of shape before this weekend.  We’re having some family in from out of town and who want to see the house.  I would like to do some sort of small “housewarming” party situation, but alas, don’t know where to begin.  So I’m blogging instead of getting up and making myself do something productive. 

Something has to be accomplished before this weekend and next weekend, though.  Too many people visiting like my BFF Alex, and my BCF (best cousin forever) Doni are going to be here AT THE SAME TIME next weekend and I’m so flipping excited.

Comments»

1. Holly - May 13, 2009

holler if you want/need help.

2. Doniree - May 13, 2009

I JUST had this conversation today with Nicole about how I can’t get anything done because I’m too busy stressing about what I’m not getting done, so I just sit. Tonight, I skipped class to clean, launder, and workout because these are the things that have been back-burnered all week. You can do it! And the part about having the BEST blog ideas when you can’t write? Totally relate.

And the part about SEEING YOU NEXT WEEKEND?! SO excited! Tell hi to the fam I’ll miss this weekend (particularly the boys since you know, I can see my folks as often as I want), but can’t wait to see you in just over a week!

WHEW! Longest comment ever.


Leave a Reply

