jump to navigation

Nudge April 9, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I’m sort of asking this as a rhetorical sort of question, and I’m not looking for proselytizing or conversion talk here, but this is something on my mind, and this is my blog, and if it offends, well, this is what i say to you: don’t be so sensitive!

I see (hear, read) many believers (followers of Christ, whatever) discuss how when in the midst of making tough or important decisions, they pray about it and ask whoever for guidance and the answer.  

Now, I’m not really sure how I feel about this.  I realize that it’s not necessarily an attitude of “I can’t make this decision, so I’ll let whoever make it for me”, and it’s more of “what do you think” or hoping for a little push somewhere.  But what I don’t quite get is why, when in the middle of making large life, death, health or even immaterial decisions, one would cease to think about it and just let it go and wait for a nudge or a push in that direction. 

If only life were that easy, that I could just leave all of those big decisions up to a different power, one apparently greater than me, and not stress about them.  If I really could believe there were some greater power out there waiting for me to ask of its help so that it could guide my decisions in one way or another.  Because right now, I got nothing.  All I got is me.  

So, I guess what I’m curious about is what does that “nudge” feel like?  How do you know it’s a holy power, and not something more insidious, pushing you toward one decision over another?   How does one go about asking for said help, anyway?  And why would one feel incapable of making a decision?  And why won’t a pros and cons list and just sitting in silence and thinking about it without an outside source of help do?  

What I also wonder, oftentimes, is how someone can be so sure of such presences to begin with.

Comments»

1. brianarmh - April 13, 2009

I’m really not sure I could describe what the nudge feels like. I guess to me praying helps me to relax and not stress about stuff so much. If I’m calm I think more rationally. Praying and hoping that someone else is helping me out helps me relax I guess. I firmly trust my intuition and I believe thats what the “nudge” is for me. Even if its something I would never do, and my gut feeling is to do it, then thats what I go with. And usually it works out.
I guess for me the reason I’m so sure of it is because I’ve “felt” it before? I also feel that certain things in my life wouldn’t have happened if there wasn’t a God. I really don’t know how to explain it, but I just feel it. I have a really hard time coming up with specific examples of these incidents, so I’m sure it seems like bs to some people, but for me i guess its just a spiritual thing. I guess I’m a pretty spiritual person.

2. Bluebelle - April 15, 2009

This is such a hard question to answer. I was brought up in a Christian family so I’ve always been encouraged to pray and talk to God about things. My best example of praying and getting a clear answer was when I was choosing universities. I’d applied to 6 but was only really interested in two. I didn’t know which one would be better but I did have a favourite. I prayed that if God wanted me at my favourite, he’d get me an offer for that one. And if he wanted me at the other place I wouldn’t get an offer for my “top choice”. And I didn’t. I was a bit disappointed but remembered what I’d asked God to do and (four years down the line) it turns out that my second choice was the perfect place for me.

It’s impossible to say that if I’d gone to the other place things wouldn’t have gone so well for me. But God gave me everything I needed and more in the place he helped me choose. So sometimes the answer to prayer is when one option gets closed off to you.


Leave a Reply

