jump to navigation

Don’t panic! March 25, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in life, The Dwelling.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

We close on our house in two days.  OMG.  

 

42.

42.

We have successfully (I say we, but really it’s Chris.  Without his financial expertise and his detail oriented brain, this never would have happened.  I’m more of a “ooh, that’s pretty. I want” kind of girl with a little buyers remorse later) saved more than my entire last year’s income, and we’re about to just write it all away.  We get something cool in return, it’s not like it’s just going to be lost, but the monies will no longer be safe and sound in our bank accounts.  Our credit union and some lawyer guy and our real estate agent will have pieces of our money-pie.  And we’ll have a house that’s ours with some land to cultivate as our own in return, and that’s nothing to scoff at.  I’m just nervous because I’ve never felt so financially secure in my life – ever, and I will be as nervous as a cat in a room full of rocking chairs until we build our savings up again.  But that’s ok.  

Another reason not to panic?  I haven’t even started packing anything yet.  There’s no real big hurry.  We’ve got a little over a month after we close to get out of and clean our current apartment before the lease is up.  That’s plenty of time to make level headed decisions about what we want to keep, what we don’t, and what doesn’t need to be moved, and to clean the old apartment (this is where we used to live!  Bonus points to whoever gets the reference!) without feeling too stressed.  We also have much less stuff than the last time we moved (only 10 months ago), so it won’t be nearly as time consuming as I might think.

Or rather, that’s what I keep telling myself.

Also, let’s not panic about the inevitable search for the perfect paint colors.  I have some beautiful (in my eyes) visions for a few rooms, but I also have a feeling that those visions may not seem so beautiful to others who might be residing there (*ahem* Chris).  I did find the perfect sky blue I want to paint our living room/great room area, it’s called “Wild Blue Yonder”.  I can only hope he finds it as perfect as I do!  LOL!  

Anyone have any packing and moving advice?

Comments»

1. Lily - March 25, 2009

Honey, I will ALWAYS pick up on your Barenaked Ladies references 🙂

And I’m so happy for you two and can’t wait to see the house next time in town!!!

I’m grateful to your hubby and his financial savvy too… he’s been real helpful to me this year in re-thinking needs vs. wants vs. long-term goals.

Adult, what?!

2. brianarmh - March 26, 2009

OOH yay! Exciting for you guys! We [err, Joel mostly] are hoping to buy in the next couple years. He’s been saving lots, but unfortunately I haven’t been making enough in the last while to put anything away.
Blue is the best color. I’ve always gone back to blue when painting my bedrooms as a kid, so I can only assume most of my house will end up blue as well 🙂
Ever considered Pistachio green and pale pastel yellow? It looks really nice together and is oddly soothing 🙂 Good luck convincing Chris of the colors you like 🙂
I can’t wait to have my own yard where I can have a garden!

3. Alex - March 26, 2009

HOORAY! I am so excited for you guys. I just wish I could be there help out.

As for moving/packing… it’s all about labeling each box with EXACTLY in detail each item that is inside each box. It helped so much this last move.

Have fun with the paint colors. Yay!

4. E.P. - March 27, 2009

I’m loving the BNL reference in there. And how exciting for y’all!

I hope you’re celebrating this weekend!


Leave a Reply

