jump to navigation

Q1: Books January 27, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
trackback

Lily posted some interview questions the other day, and I jumped on it!

Here are the rules! 🙂 

1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions. 

3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

So, here is my first question from Lily!

1.  I know how much you love to read.  Tell me about a book you’ve read more than once and why you came back to it?

Yes, I do love me some books.  The written word is so special to me.  There are a few books that I’ve read more than once.  The book I’ve read the most in my life is To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee.  I’ve read it at least once every year for the past 13 years.  The ease of Lee’s writing, combined with the southern charm and the message of the book, make it an excellent book that I feel I learn from every time I pick it up.  

I think there’s just one kind of folks.  Folks.  ~Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird, Chapter 23, spoken by the character Scout

And of course, the main message, that to kill an innocent person (some would argue any person) would be like killing a mocking bird.  

The second book that I’ve read more than once  and think it should be on everyone’s shelf is Lamb Christopher Moore.  The full title is Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Friend.  You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and come away more touched than you thought possible by a slightly irreverent, but mostly respectful, account of Jesus’ “dark years”.

Comments»

1. Lily - January 27, 2009

Awesome! I haven’t read *either* of those books and will promptly add them to my list!

2. E.P. - February 8, 2009

I haven’t read the second book, but I definitely had to read To Kill a Mockingbird in school. I need to reread it to get a different perspective since that was so long ago!


Leave a Reply

