jump to navigation

My favorite season January 26, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

So, I was running out of blog ideas because I’ve been a morose mother f****r over the last few weeks (self pity mostly, how embarrassing).  So, I decided I needed some prompting, which is why I asked Lily to interview me.  But, I took matters into my own hands, and found this site: 

The imagination prompt generator

Which has prompted me to write about my favorite season!  

My favorite season is fall.  It used to be spring.  But, then I discovered what allergies were, and that I had them in a bad way.  And then the migraines came with the allergies in the spring.  So, I decided spring wasn’t my favorite.  

My least-favorite season used to be fall.  I didn’t like that it was colder, that school started back, that my summer freedom was taken away (I miss “summer freedom”).  I didn’t like that things were dying right before our very eyes and people acted like it was ok. 

As I got older, I realized that death is a pretty significant part of life, and that nothing on this earth will change and affect a person more deeply than the loss of a loved one.  Or a loved ones loved one.  I rediscovered Greek Mythology, and became (still am) fascinated with Demeter and Persephone.  This might sound emo, but I am reminded, every fall, of the sadness and suffering that Demeter would have felt at the end of the summer when she realized that her daughter would be spending the next 6 months with Hades, the god of the underworld, and she wouldn’t see her at all.  Fall reminds me to be thankful for what I do have, and to mourn the loss of those that I no longer have.  

So, my favorite season is fall.  Not just because I’m emo.  But because, while I may have more allergies in the fall than the spring, my migraines aren’t nearly as bad.  So I like fall.  And the crisp air and beautiful colors.

Comments»

1. Lily - January 26, 2009

I absolutely love fall. It’s so beautiful and colorful here, and how interesting that its the death of the trees and the leaves that are so beautiful.

Also, I will interview you 🙂 I got a lot of requests and want to make sure I pick thoughtful amd personal questions. So, hang tight!


Leave a Reply

