jump to navigation

Mos Maiorum January 25, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in life, Uncategorized.
trackback

Mos Maiorum is a latin phrase that means “a custom of the forefathers”, and pretty much ruled the way that the ancient Romans felt about how to rule things.  

The Mores Maiorum of the Romans is what kept their culture going strong for thousands of years.  When faced with any question, a Roman would instinctually think “what would the old farts have done?”

Not only have I been trying decide how I felt about things lately, I’ve been rethinking the ways I’ve felt about them in the past.  Why do people typically look back to answer their questions?  I’m not sure, but I think I’m going to be trying to look forward and to look at things through a new perspective.  

The main thing I’m rethinking is what the definition of morality is.  Any insight would be appreciated.

So, the mores of my family aren’t really helping me out right now.  There are some extremely grey situations that have presented themselves to me in the last few weeks, and I have been having a hard time learning what to do with them.  I wish all moral areas were black and white, but they just aren’t.

Comments»

1. Holly - January 25, 2009

great post. here’s my 2 cents. i think this is a situation where you must decide for yourself. it’s alright to decide that a certain thing is wrong. you aren’t going to picket, or throw stones , you are just not going to support the topic by making excuses, or justifying it in any way.
i think that is morality more than anything…taking a person stance to never cross a certain line yourself or support/enable/encourage anyone’s actions that do cross that line.
some people are called to make a stand for things big and loud (like oprah or MLK jr) and some of us take a stand in smaller ways, but it’s all for the same good and it matters. a lot.

2. E.P. - January 25, 2009

I feel like I’m in a similar situation pertaining to my family and my job (though I have no idea what you’re discussing.) I just wanted to let you know that I know how you feel. And I’m struggling through it, too.

3. Michael - January 25, 2009

I use a mirror if it is a really hard decision.

I decide what my feeling is and look in the mirror.

If I like what I see, it is a good decision for me. If not, there is always time to reconsider.

Michael

4. Q4: « Leisure with Dignity - Peace, Love and Starbucks, y’all - January 30, 2009

[…] posts, you’ve been spending a lot of time lately pondering life’s weighty things like ethics and morality.  Can you share with us one of your revelations or conclusions, if you’ve reached any […]


Leave a Reply

