jump to navigation

New Years Resolutions January 5, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
trackback

Everyone else did it, so I guess I’ll be posting my stuff for the year, too!  

1.  Be more healthy.  There’s no way I’m giving up caffeine, that’s just silly for one who works for SBUX, but I can cut back on processed food, eat more veggies and fruits, and exercise 2-3 times a week.  

2.  Continue to be content with who I am, where I am, and what I’m doing.  The grass is not always greener, and I’ve learned to understand that over the past few years.  I’ve come a LONG way, and I’m perfectly happy with where I am, where Chris and I are, and how life is going really.  Of course there is more to life than renting and SBUX, but those things will resolve themselves.  

3.  Create better habits for myself.  

  • Eating habits, which we’ve already discussed, are important.  
  • Emotional habits are also important.  I am learning to recognize that emotions aren’t these bad things that make humans evil.  I’m learning to accept my emotions for exactly what they are – information.  After a life-time of emotion being beaten out of me, I’m learning to be ok with them.  Crying is not weakness.  It’s just information.  Anger is just information.  Emotions are just information, and as long as I use them like I would any other information, there’s nothing wrong with my emotions. 
  • Life habits are the last one I’m going to work on.  I have a clutter problem.  I wish I was one of those “Born Organized” people who just naturally likes to organize and reorganize things.  But, I’m not one of those people.  I read a personality type profile of myself and the thing that hit home the most for me was how my personality type (INFP if you’re interested) will meticulously work on the projects that interest them the most, but will walk over a pile of clutter or a stain on the floor 100 times before they actually notice it.  I recognize this as a problem and will work on creating better habits for the clutter and the mess.
Comments»

1. E.P. - January 5, 2009

I’m loving your resolutions, especially eating healthier (I’m attempting to do the same thing), emotional habits and life habits.

I hope your 2009 has been lovely so far!

2. Alex - January 6, 2009

Emotions are just information! Woot! Can we work on this one together… cos I sure have some problems in this department.


Leave a Reply

