jump to navigation

2008 in Review… January 1, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
trackback
1. What did you do in 2008 that you’ve never done before?  
I learned how to crochet!
  • 2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
    I don’t think I made any for last year.  But this year my resolution is take care of myself and be more healthy. 

    3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
    A few people!

  • 4. Did anyone close to you die?
    Yes, actually.
  • 5. What countries did you visit?
    The USA….
  • 6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
    A house 

    7. What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
    I’m sure there are some that I should remember forever, but I don’t like to dwell on dates like that.

    8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
    I kept my job, the same job, all year!  Which means only one W2 this year!

    9. What was your biggest failure?
    I suck at housekeeping.

    10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
    A few colds, a couple of bruises and some work-related skin loss, but nothing major.

  • 11. What was the best thing you bought?
    My very first piece of awesome furniture! It’s a blue medium sized curio cabinet 

    12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
    Chris’.  He puts up with a lot.

  • 13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
    There are a couple of people, but I’m not going to talk about it. 

    14. Where did most of your money go?
    “Our money” went to paying of the credit card and into a savings account.  My money went to frivolous things like books and eyeshadow.

    15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
    I haven’t been really, really, really, really excited about anything in a long time.

    16. What songs will always remind you of 2008?
    Probably “Map of the Problematique” by Muse. Oh, and “Frog on my Toe” by Tori Amos

    17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
    a) happier or sadder? Happier, perhaps.  
    b) Thinner or fatter? The same, thank god.  
    c) richer or poorer? Richer, actually.  

    18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
    Exercising.

    19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
    Lounging

    20. How will you be spending Christmas?
    I spent Christmas with various family members!  Yeay!

    21. A few random memories:
    The beach with the ILs was fun and interesting.  

    22. Did you fall in love in 2008?
    I fall more in love with Chris every day I think.  So yes.

    23. How many one-night stands?
    That would be none!

    24. What was your favorite TV program?
    I discovered “The Office” this year

    25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
    I try really hard not to hate people.  There’s that one lady that comes into Starbucks that gets a venti breve no whip no foam peppermint mocha that I hate about equally as much…

    26. What was the best book you read?
    The best book was probably “The Bell Jar” by Sylvia Plath.  The books I enjoyed thoroughly were the ones of the “Twilight Saga”…

    27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
    Kate Nash, Muse..

  • 28. What did you want and get?
  • I got an espresso machine!  Yeay!
  • 29. What did you want and not get?
    I lacked for pretty much nothing this year. 

    30. What was your favorite film of this year?
    I have no idea what came out this year.  I really liked The Dark Knight.

    31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
    I turned 25, and I probably whined all day about getting old.  I don’t remember what I did…

    32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
    My year was pretty damned satisfying, but I think seriously knowing what I want to do with my life would have helped a lot.  Quarter life crises aren’t my favorite.  It was harsh to spend the last 10 years thinking I wanted to teach to suddenly realize that the state of the profession right now deters me.  I’m so disheartened.  

    33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
    When I’m not in my awesome SBUX uniform, I think my fashion concept would have been “quirky casual”.  

    34. What kept you sane?
    Chris.

    35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
    I dig Keifer Sutherland and Trent Reznor.

    36. What political issue stirred you the most?
    There were several, and I never did some to any ideological conclusions on any.

    37. Who did you miss?
    Pop.

    38. Who was the best new person you met?
    New person I met this year….I didn’t meet very many this particular year, but I certainly got to know a few better that I met towards the end of last year.

    39. What do you look forward to in 2009?
    Buying a house.  Being married.  Vacation.  My cousin’s wedding!

    40. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008:
    “True happiness is to enjoy the present without anxious dependance on the future.”  –Seneca. 

    41. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
    “Maybe I’ll grow up to be
    As wise and as good as he”  from Frog on my Toe by Tori Amos

  • Advertisements

    Comments»

    No comments yet — be the first.

    Leave a Reply

