jump to navigation

Everything I needed to know about life, I learned from working at Starbucks, part XV December 18, 2008

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in starbucks.
Tags: ,
trackback

It’s the Christmas season, it’s cold, and it was rainy today.  

In SBUX world, this equals lots of impatient and rude customers. 

After countless customers obviously not having the time of day for me, I was at the end of my rope.  No one had been mean or outlandishly rude, but no one had been nice yet, either.  So I was tired, slightly irritable from not having a meal break yet, and over being treated like a doormat.  

This older man was in line, and he asked for his drink, and obviously isn’t a regular SBUX customer, and says every word wrong when ordering.  Some people get irritated at this, but I am not one of those people.  It’s not that he doesn’t bother to use the terminology (venti pronounced vin – tea, not vahn-tay, or vintage…yes, we’ve heard vintage), he just pronounces it wrong.  And makes some off handed comment about how he doesn’t care to learn the language.  I’m a little miffed because he’s coming across very pompous, but whatever.  After I mark his paper cup, he asks for the drinks for here.  We were out of ceramic venti mugs at the moment, so I asked if that was ok.  

He apparently didn’t understand what I meant because he suddenly became angry and asked “So, I’m paying for a venti, but I won’t be getting a venti drink?”

“No sir, I just meant is a paper venti cup ok.”  

It was ok, but he sort of laughed and said he was joking and he was sorry.  So, before I realized what I could say, the words “This is not the time of year to be messing around with retail people, sir!”  I’m laughing as I say it, and smiling, and he giggled a bit, too.  He said “You’re right, I’m sorry.  Thanks.  You have a good night.”  

It was such a relief to have that conversation end that way.  

Tonight I learned that just when you least expect it, the universe sends you exactly what you need to keep your sanity to make it through one more close the week before Christmas as a SBUX.  

Bless you, universe.  Bless you.  And bless that man trying to joke with me at the wrong time.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

