jump to navigation

Everything I needed to know about life, I learned from working at Starbucks, Part XIII December 9, 2008

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in starbucks.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Or

Why I don’t like Mondays…..

 

        Today was a Monday.  Since I work retail, Mondays are mostly meaningless.  I understand how people who work 9-5 weekday jobs aren’t fans of Mondays, but they mean nothing to me.  

Today was definitely a Monday, the ugly, sneaky, make you want to punch something hard and hurt yourself kind of Monday.  The Monday that Garfield hates…

Less than an hour into my shift today, some prick comes in asking for a coffee traveler full of hot chocolate instead of coffee.  That’s not something that we do, and to make a long story short, he was a total prick to me until I gave in to him.  We don’t have a way to ring that up.  We’re not supposed to do it.  It’s not an SBUX thing.  But prick (who happens to be a drug rep.  I am NOT a fan of drug reps) wouldn’t let it go.  I told him it might take up to 20 minutes to get all of his stuff together.  We were busy, and it’s not something we have a procedure for.  He acts all insulted that we’re wasting his time.  Then he says “So, you don’t want to do it?”  The regulars in line behind him are laughing at how much of a jerk this guy is to me.  I put my retail smile on and tell him “No, that’s not it.  It’s just that it’s not something that we do, so we don’t know the right way to do it.”  Ugh.  Then he complains to my boss about how rude I was to him.  

Thank goodness when I talked to my boss about him she knew I wasn’t being rude to him, and that the problem was with him, not me or my actions.  She also made a new policy today – we are NOT making travelers full of hot chocolate anymore.  Epic Win! But, he still ruined the first part of my day.

So, at about 8 tonight this older gentleman comes in.  He asks my partner, J, about getting a french press of French Roast.  We’re supposed to offer customers who want french presses the coffees we’re featuring for the day first, then if they want something else, go with that.  So, while I was trying to go through this with him, he pulls a freaking LETTER FROM CORPORATE CUSTOMER RELATIONS with a section highlighted saying he can have whatever french press he wants.  He wouldn’t even let me finish my little sentence before he produces a letter from freaking corporate.  So we charge him for a french press (it costs more.  it’s a specialty thing, takes extra time etc), and send him on his way.  Less than 15 minutes later I receive a call from Customer Relations about this guy, who has now called and complained that we charged him for his french press!  Are you kidding!  Customer relations basically said that he can have whatever he wants at whatever price he feels like paying.  What the hell?!?  So I call the boss lady, and she’s miffed that customer relations just lets people have whatever the hell they want because they’re a bunch of whiney complainers.  So, she knows I didn’t do anything wrong and the call is completely unwarranted.  If I see him again, I’m going to approach it the same way.  He’s going to pay for the french press because when you order something, you have to pay for it, even if you only eat half of the burger.  I wouldn’t call that an Epic Win, because our store just had to bend over and take it from the super-special customer relations department.  The boss apologized for me getting all the rude people today, too. 

I’m just baffled at how rude, and the sort of entitlement complexes people have.  

Did I mention that I have some sort of cold, felt like crap, and still had to deal with all of this rudeness?  What a day. 

So, today I learned that people suck.

Comments»

1. lily - December 9, 2008

mean people suck. hope your tuesday is better!

2. Kait - December 9, 2008

GAH what a nasty Monday

And yep, never ceases to amaze me how rude the general public can be

Baristas are people too!!!

3. Holly - December 9, 2008

no way!

4. Lauren - December 10, 2008

That’s insane! If I hadn’t worked there, I’d think you made that up! Suddenly studying sounds like a lot of fun!


Leave a Reply

