jump to navigation

Everything I needed to know about life, I learned from working at Starbucks, part XII December 8, 2008

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in starbucks.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Let me tell you about my day at SBUX on Saturday.  It was a good open, albeit busy very early on.  Had some laughs with my fellow baristas, make some lattes.  And then something went terribly wrong. 

I was reaching into one of our metal shelves in the back to get a 5 lb bag of Espresso Roast beans (can’t have a latte without the espresso!), and scraped a good chunk of skin off of my middle finger on my right hand above my third knuckle, so that hurt every time I had to put my hand in water of any form.  So, basically every 5 seconds.  

So, the day went on.  I was innocently timing espresso shots, as our espresso excellence guidelines have us do, and the top part of the espresso machine won’t go down.  I wiggle it.  I jiggle it.  Then it falls on my unsuspecting ring finger.  Yup, on my right hand.  I almost dropped an f-bomb right there in front of God and everyone else at SBUX (God goes to SBUX, right?  He needs lattes, too!).  My poor finger bled, and I really thought that it would be bruised pretty severely.  The boss lady took care of me, though.  She helped me find a bandaid and some aspirin in the first aid kit, and helped me put my bandaid on my finger.  It would have been awkward to do it on my own.  

So, my finger is throbbing through the rest of my day.  Counting out change, pouring cups of coffee, organizing our pastry freezer are all actually really hard when I can’t use my ring finger.  It was debilitating, surprisingly.  

Then, as I’m wrapping up some pastries with the plastic wrap, I slice my right hand ring finger on the plastic-wrap blade.  So, I’m bleeding again.  

Three times in one day, I caused myself to bleed on my right hand.  What a day.  

What did I learn, you might ask?  I learned that I really am a walking calamity.  Just like the husband says.

Comments»

1. Kait - December 8, 2008

Awwwww baby!!!!!!!! That makes me cringe!!! Especially it happening three times in a work environment ’cause heaven knows I know how painful scalding-hot-sanitizer water is to gaping flesh wounds. [O_o]

2. Lauren - December 10, 2008

Aww! That hurts! You know what makes me cringe though is that my first thought was that I know the really long proper term for the specific knuckle you were talking about cutting! Dumb school!


Leave a Reply

