jump to navigation

Another election related post November 7, 2008

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in politics.
Tags: ,
trackback

My poor Lily….

I chose not to talk politics with my family because my parents and I do not see eye to eye at all.  That’s cool.  

But I was a little bit involved, I have my convictions and they know why I stand where I stand.  They know I’m a social liberal, so therefore I vote with the  social liberals!  I will gladly pay more taxes, or forgo my tax return if it means that our country can be better for EVERYONE, not just upper-middle class and the rich. 

Ok, so Dad tonight congratulated me on my candidates win, and told me he was proud of me for having convictions.  Odd.  

Here’s something I wrote earlier today…

I remember distinctly the day the election results were announced in 2004. I remember how freaking scared I was at the election results that day – scared for the world, for my friends in the military, scared for our economy, our safety, our reputation, our freedom. 

And I have since seen all of those fears realized. Our place in the world is a joke, my friends have done multiple tours in war zones, our economy tanked, and the patriot act has run amok, infringing on our basic rights as given by the Constitution. 

I remember how upset and afraid I felt, and i also remember how if I voiced that opinion, I would get lots of mean comments from supporters of Bush…

Here we are, 4 years later, and people have decided that what we did need was change. I’m scared for Obama because there are so many out there that simply HATE him for one reason or another. I’m scared that the damage is irreparable. I’m scared that there’s so much for him to take on, that there’s no way for him to make giant strides in office, and then him being voted out in 4 years.

So to all of those who are afraid of Pres. Elect Obama, 

now you know how I’ve felt for the last 8 years. I think it’s high time for change.

Comments»

1. Lily - November 7, 2008

Amen!!! I remember so clearly the moment, the Wednesday morning after the 2004 election, walking up the stairs from the basement in my parents’ house into the living room upstairs, where my mom was watching. I was fighting tears in my eyes, she simply acknowledged that Bush had won and we both stood there, watching Kerry’s concession speech. I don’t remember her saying anything, but I remember that same feeling of fear for our country. I’m so glad things have turned around. I know I will remember these last few days for the rest of my life. Love yoU!

2. dimwell - November 7, 2008

It’s always the darkest before dawn. 74 days.


Leave a Reply

