jump to navigation

Everything I needed to know about life, I learned from working at Starbucks, Part 4 July 31, 2008

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in starbucks.
trackback

I have had lots of experience working with people.  I know that most everyone works with people every day, but most people see the same ones every day.  I see hundreds of different people every day.  And I think I’ve written about the importance of kindness before, but I cannot stress it enough. 

 

I have experienced a lot of management in my time working in retail and hospitality.  I have seen great management, I have seen mediocre management, and I’ve seen extremely bad management.  

 

But there’s something that I gathered from them all – is how to get people to do what you want.  I know that I don’t want to work harder when I feel like it doesn’t matter in the long run.  I don’t work for praise or recognition, but there is a reason that all big corporations offer small recognitions for even their lowliest employees.  It keeps them motivated.  While many employees may scoff or roll their eyes at the little pins or cards given to them, inside it gives them a little bit of pride to know that someone realized the hard work and/or effort.  

 

People like to know that the energy they put into something is recognized by someone else.  Even if it’s just a thank you or a “good job”.  

 

From working at Starbucks, I have learned that the way to get people to work a little harder or to stay motivated, one must also create an environment of support and …. wait a minute, I am remembering something from my SBUX training….

“Create a positive work environment and treat each other with respect and dignity.” 

It’s one of our “Guiding Principles”.  

Little recognitions go a long way for people.  Taking the time to be patient and respect others feelings goes a long way in getting what you need your employees to do.  Life needs serious talks sometimes, and so does working with others, but there are way better ways of motivating workers than withholding recognition and never praising. 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

