jump to navigation

The only thing I ever wanted to learn (from Starbucks) December 21, 2009

Posted by Michelle, with dignity in Uncategorized.
trackback

I just had to share this.

A few minutes ago, I received this email from a coworker…

I had the most wonderful experience at work today.  I was taking an order from a pleasant faced woman. She was ordering a Grande Caramel Brulee Latte.  She was dressed for the weather.  She was wearing a large gray cable sweater and matching knit hat.  On her sweater was the sweetest long, sterling and enamel Santa Clause Pin with the Santa sitting on top of a Christmas Tree.  I said to her, “I love your Santa Pin. My Mother just loves Santa Clauses.” She looked down and unhooked the pin and started to handed it to me.  I thought she was letting me look at the pin up close but then she shook her head and said, “I didn’t remember what I had on.  Here, give it to your Mother.” I was stunned.  I talk to people all day long and compliment them on their looks, clothes, jewelry, and perfume but never have I had someone hand over their possessions to me.  I said with aghast, “Absolutely not!” She looked up at me so disappointed and sad. She said to me, “Really? If you give it to your Mother it would bless my day.” I looked up into her guiless face and said, “Yes, I will take it to my Mother and she will adore it! Thank you. Thank you.” I put my arms out to her and she hugged me.  I was speachless.  The woman left to pick up her drink.  Finally, shaking myself free I looked up at the next person in line.  This woman didn’t seemed fazed at all by what had just happened.  I said to her, “I can’t believe she gave me her pin!?”  The woman smiled, looked at me and said, “That’s my Mother.  She does stuff like this all the time.”  I have to admit she looked very proud.

I am crying as I write this.

J

I can’t really explain just how rare it is to experience a random act of kindness while working behind the bar at Starbucks. I mean, the majority of our customers are really quite nice and pleasant, and they are why I enjoy doing what I do at work.

But for someone to actually display a kindness to a “random” barista is just so rare, and it gives me hope for the human race as a whole, that there are some out there who would rather do something nice for others than not.  It’s touching.

And I’m going to try to remember that every day.  That there are nice people out there.  They might be few and far between, but they’re there.

Comments»

1. Doniree - December 21, 2009

Oh, that is a beautiful story – I’m so glad your coworker took the time to tell you this story! I adore this.

2. Allie - December 21, 2009

What a sweet woman! It’s really nice to be reminded how many amazing people there are in the world!

3. bellerenee - December 21, 2009

This same thing happened one day to my coworker I was with. My coworker complimented a lady’s little wristlet so she emptied it out and handed it over the counter!!

4. Erin - December 21, 2009

That is just so sweet! What a nice reminder that there really are some amazing people in this world.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

